Skip to main content

UNAC Committees

Standing Committees:

Our constitution (Article 7) and by-laws (Article 5) explain the charge for each UNAC committee. RA members serve on one or more committees, and we encourage all dues-paying members to join one or more of our committees. Committees normally meet during the 9-month academic year.

Collective Bargaining Committee (CBC)*
Organizing, Membership, and
Communications Committee
Finance, Budget, and Audit Committee
CHAIR, Tim Hinterberger (UAA) Julie Maier (UAF-CTC) CHAIR, Deb Mole (UAA) CHAIR, VACANT
Anthony (Tony) Rickard (UAF) Maria Williams (UAA) Richie Berndt (UAF-CTC) Tara Palmer (UAA; UNAC Interim Treasurer)
Jennifer Carroll (UAF) Kevin Berry (UAA) Debu Misra (UAF) Haiwei Chen (UAF)
Debu Misra (UAF) Matthew Cuellar (UAA) seeking more members  
Falk Huettmann (UAF) Gokhan Karahan (UAA)    
Legislative Relations Committee
Elections Committee**
Committee on Non-Tenure Track Members
CHAIR, Pete Praetorius (UAA-Mat-Su) CHAIR, Sharon Chamard (UAA) CO-CHAIRS, Kimberly Pace (UAA) & Sue Fallon (UAF-IAC)  
Maria Williams (UAA) Gordon Williams (UAF) Robbie Herrick (UAF)  
Art Nash (UAF) Terissia Bell (UAS-Sitka, Extended Sites) Richie Berndt (UAF-CTC)  
Gokhan Karahan (UAA) Paulette Schirmer (UAS) seeking more members  
Mary Wegner (UAS) Page Brannon (UAA)    

*The CBC assists in the selection of our Negotiation Teams by recruiting nominees and making recommendations to the Executive Board, which makes the final decision on Negotiation Team members. The CBC also assists the Negotiation Team by assessing member priorities and gathering helpful data.

**The Elections Committee oversees all officer and RA elections, CBA ratification votes, Constitution changes, and all other union-related official votes. Members of our Election Committee do not currently hold any elected positions within UNAC.

Ad Hoc Committees:

Election Appeals Committee Constitution and By-Laws Committee  
committee membership is selected as needed CHAIR, Leah Berman  (UAF)  
  Kristen Ogilvie (UAA)  


Kathy DiLorenzo (UAS)  
  Abel Bult-Ito (UAF, UNAC Secretary)  

Interested in joining one of our committees?

If you're a dues paying UNAC member, contact us at today to express your interest in one or more of our committees!

We need YOU!

See UNAC Bylaws for more details of our committees.

Help steer our union's priorities!


State Affiliate Union Boards

APEA/AFT Board APEA/AFT EPIC Alaska AFL-CIO Vice Presidents
Seat A:
Jill Dumesnil (UAS)
Seat A:
Anthony (Tony) Rickard (UAF)
Jill Dumesnil (UAS)
Alternate for Seat A:
Abel Bult-Ito (UAF)
Alternate for Seat A:
Abel Bult-Ito (UAF)
Abel Bult-Ito (UAF)
Seat B: Tim Hinterberger (UAA) Seat B: Sharon Chamard (UAA)  
Alternate for Seat B:
Pete Praetorius (UAA)
Alternate for Seat B:
A graphic of four hands clasping each others' wrists

Share This