## **United Academics AAUP-AFT Local 4996**

## **Executive Board Meeting Minutes - approved**

Date: Thursday, October 3, 2024 Time: 8:30-10:00 am AKDT

CALL TO ORDER 8:37 a.m.		
Land Acknowledgement		
Statement on Racial Justice and Social Equity		
Roll Call  Members present: Jill Dumesnil, Ryan Harrod, Sharon Chamard, Cindy Trussell  Members absent: Abel Bult-Ito, Doug Cost, Andrea Dewees Staff: Kate Quick, Melanie Arthur Guests: none		
Motion to Approve 2024-10-03 agenda: approved		
Motion to approve minutes from 2024-09-19: approved  REPORTS		
<ul> <li>President - report given</li> <li>Secretary - absent</li> <li>Treasurer - report given</li> <li>VP UAA - report given</li> <li>VP UAF - report given</li> <li>VP UAS - report given</li> <li>VP Extended sites - report given</li> </ul>		
<ul> <li>Contract Manager - report given</li> <li>Organizing Manager - report given</li> </ul>		
NEW BUSINESS		
<ol> <li>Negotiations Update and General Membership Meeting - discussed</li> <li>AGWA Grievance Process - discussed</li> <li>AAUP Organizing Training - discussed</li> </ol>		

• **NEXT MEETING**: Thu October 17, 2024, 8:30-10:00 a.m.

**AKDT** 

• Good of the Order - yes

• Motion to Adjourn: 10:04 a.m.

## LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We live and work on the unceded territories of Alaska Native Peoples. We very much appreciate their past and ongoing stewardship of these lands.

## STATEMENT ON RACIAL JUSTICE AND SOCIAL EQUITY AT UA

As part of our commitment to enkindle racial justice and social equity within the University of Alaska system, we will speak up when we experience examples of racism or injustice in our meetings and as we conduct our business.

This means we can and will interrupt the meeting to draw the issue to one another's attention. We will do this kindly, with care, and in good faith. This statement is a reminder that we commit to doing this in the service of ending the system of racial oppression that is perpetuated through institutionalized policies and individual bias.

United Academics Executive Board		
Jill Dumesnil, Ph.D.	2023-2026	
Sharon Chamard, Ph.D.	interim	
Abel Bult-Ito, Ph.D.	2023-2026	
Ryan Harrod, Ph.D.	2024-2027	
Douglas Cost, Ph.D.	2024-2027	
Andrea Dewees, Ph.D	2024-2027	
Cindy Trussell, Ph.D.	2024-2027	
	Jill Dumesnil, Ph.D.  Sharon Chamard, Ph.D.  Abel Bult-Ito, Ph.D.  Ryan Harrod, Ph.D.  Douglas Cost, Ph.D.  Andrea Dewees, Ph.D	

STAFF

**CONTRACT MANAGER** Melanie Arthur, Ph.D. **ORGANIZING MANAGER** Kate Quick, M.F.A.